bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

© Andreas Herzau
back to list


Jan 18

Jakub Hrůša conducts Mozart, Beethoven, Dvořák

Abo A
Bamberg, Konzerthalle, Joseph-Keilberth-Saal
20:00 Uhr

»Travelling is a passion, in the wonderful dual sense so perfectly enshrined in the German word Leidenschaft: a passion, not a pleasure.« Erhart Kästner’s claim could well have been backed up by Mozart, who criss-crossed Europe as a child. Before the coming of railways, that was a long, drawn-out business, and sometimes a highly uncomfortable one. People travelled in horse-drawn carriages, often on very hard seats, covering a maximum of 40 kilometres a day – the journey from Vienna to Prague took a week, for instance. But Mozart gladly put up with these stresses and strains for the welcome the Bohemian capital’s enthusiastic audience always gave him. When he arrived in Prague in 1787, he brought with him the score of the Symphony in D major, whose passionate, operatic manner made it a sensational success. Mozart had other ways of happily whiling way these trips, such as regaling his travelling companions with jokes. Dvořák too had a (pretty eccentric) hobby, as he once admitted: »I would give all my symphonies to be the inventor of the locomotive.« Still, his true vocation was music. He composed his imaginative eighth Symphony in 1889, between trips to Russia and Germany.

Due to a persistent viral infection, the pianist Piotr Anderszewski unfortunately was not able to rehearse the originally planned 3rd Piano Concerto by Béla Bartok. In order not to have to cancel the concerts in Bamberg altogether, he has asked to be allowed to play the first piano concerto by Beethoven instead. Jakub Hrůša and the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra have gladly accepted this request and are pleased to welcome Mr. Anderszewski back to Bamberg, a member of the ranks of exceptional artists of his generation.

Jakub Hrůša Conductor
Piotr Anderszewski Piano

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphonie Nr. 38 D-Dur KV 504 »Prager«
Ludwig van Beethoven Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 1 C-Dur op. 15
Antonín Dvořák Symphonie Nr. 8 G-Dur op. 88