bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

back to list


Oct 17

Kahchun Wong conducts Haydn, Tchaikovsky, Zimmermann

Abo C
Bamberg, Konzerthalle, Joseph-Keilberth-Saal
20:00 Uhr

»From forth the fatal loins of these two foes a pair of star-crossed lovers take their life; whose misadventured piteous overthrows doth with their death bury their parents’ strife.« When the theme of passion comes up, there’s no avoiding the world’s best-known love story: Shakespeare’s tragedy of Romeo and Juliet, whose love simply could not be. Passion, yearning, violence, love, hate, death: many composers have made music from the play; brilliantly, in the case of Tchaikovsky – the passionate romantic composer par excellence. One of the finest melodists in history, he was above all a man of feeling, who often wrestled with himself and with society’s constraints. These tensions also left their mark in his music, with its constant mood-swings. He once claimed there was »not a single bar which I have not felt through and through, and which does not echo the life of my innermost soul«. Witness his famous »Pathétique« Symphony – a deeply subjective, heart-breaking work, whose profound »Adagio lamentoso« finale contemporary critics compared with the end of Shakespeare’s »Hamlet«: »The rest is silence.« Haydn’s Symphony in e minor also radiates grief. A powerfully expressive work, its nickname derives from the story that Haydn intended its slow movement to be played at his funeral. And so that we don’t spend the whole concert in lamentation, but stay on terra firma, there’s a musical novelty: the world premiere of a piece by Walter Zimmermann. The conductor is Kahchun Wong, the highly likeable winner of our »Mahler Competition« in 2016, which has since set him on the surest course to global stardom.

Kahchun Wong Conductor

Joseph Haydn Symphonie Nr. 44 e-Moll Hob. I:44 »Trauer-Symphonie«
Walter Zimmermann »Äthermühle«, Uraufführung einer Zugabe
Piotr I. Tschaikowski Romeo und Julia, Fantasie-Ouvertüre nach Shakespeare
Piotr I. Tschaikowski Symphonie Nr. 6 h-Moll op. 74 »Pathétique«