bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

© Andreas Herzau
back to list


May 18

Olga Peretyatko sings Rachmaninov, Glinka, Rimsky-Korsakov, Shostakovich

Abo C
Bamberg, Konzerthalle, Joseph-Keilberth-Saal
20:00 Uhr

As Leo Tolstoy said: »Music is the shorthand of emotion.« The music of Russia’s nationalist composers in particular often bubbles over with emotion – from the fiery and intoxicating to the elegiac and melancholy. This evening we take a tour through these impressive sound-worlds, with several Russian romances. Like the German Lied, this art form also left its mark on the 19th century’s musical landscape. In these varied works, love’s agonies and ecstasies and deeply intimate laments all fuse together, achieving supreme mastery in the hands of Rachmaninoff, Glinka and Rimsky-Korsakov – and also, with a satirical edge, in Shostakovich’s, who once said: »Only someone who feels the heartbeat and spirit of the times can also really express the thoughts of the people.« The soprano Olga Peretyatko brings us musical tales of burning desire, pining love and torments of jealousy! We start with Rachmaninoff’s orchestral swansong, the profound »Symphonic Dances« – and for the pièce de résistance we plunge into the world of our Bohemian roots: when Dvořák was composing his eighth Symphony, he described himself in a letter as a »musical poet«.

Jakub Hrůša Conductor
Olga Peretyatko-Mariotti Soprano

Sergei Rachmaninow Symphonische Tänze op. 45
Mikhail Glinka Cavatina der Ludmila aus dem ersten Akt der Oper »Ruslan und Ludmila«
Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow »Plenivshis rozoj solvey« op. 2 No. 2
Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow Arie der Marfa aus »Die Zarenbraut«
Sergei Rachmaninow »Sing nicht, Du Schöne« (»Ne poj, krasavica, pri mne«) für Sopran und Orchester op. 4 Nr. 4
Sergei Rachmaninow »Vocalise« für Sopran und Orchester op. 34 Nr. 14
Sergei Rachmaninow »Hier ist es schön« (»Zdes horoso«) für Sopran und Orchester op. 21 Nr. 7
Antonín Dvořák Symphonie Nr. 8 G-Dur op. 88