bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.


From the Philharmonie de Paris: Gustav Mahler - 9th Symphony

16th January 2022:

Jakub Hrůša Conductor
Gustav Mahler Symphony No. 9

Information on the currently valid access and hygiene regulations

  • Reduction of seating to 25%.
  • Required minimum distance of 1.50 m.
  • Collection/exchange of subscription tickets for single tickets with current seat numbers at the box office.
  • 2G-plus rule for admission to the concert hall: only fully vaccinated (valid 14 days after vaccination) or recovered persons (older than 28 days, younger than 90 days) who can also present a negative rapid antigen test or PCR test.
  • The additional test can be replaced by a booster vaccination at least 14 days old.
  • Please have your ticket, proof of vaccination/recovery, your test result, and your ID ready.
  • It is compulsory to wear an FFP2 mask - also at your seat during the concert.
  • From Dec 18th onwards, there will again be a gastronomic offer including the serving of alcohol.
  • Children up to 5 years are exempt from the admission rules.
  • Children from 6 years to 12 years (and 3 months) do not need to show a test if they are either tested regularly at their school or are not yet of school age.
  • Admission for young people aged 12 years (and 3 months) to 17 years, only if they are vaccinated or recovered and can show a test or student ID.
  • Young people aged 18 and over are subject to the 2G-plus admission rule.
  • Masks are compulsory for children aged 6 and over.
  • Between 6 and 15 years, a medical mask is also acceptable.

  • Attention: Parking spaces in the underground car park are still limited. A free shuttle bus will depart from the Georgendamm underground car park 50 and 30 minutes before a concert begins.
  • Detailed information about our hygiene concept and the protective measures we have developed can be found HERE.


Newly Released

Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 4

3 versions + alternative movements and fragments
Bamberger Symphoniker, Jakub Hrůša
4 CDs // Accentus ACC30533

"The technical level and the dedication of the Bamberg Symphony together with Hrůša’s exceptional interpretation raise this Bruckner to the very highest level, not least because the recorded sound is equally outstanding."

"No one who claims to know his Bruckner should pass this box by."

(Remy Franck, Pizzicato)

This CD box is the world's first complete recording of all three versions of the Bruckner Symphony by an orchestra as a complete release. It is accompanied by musicological expertise made accessible to all recipients. The recording of all versions of the 4th Symphony presented here is the first recording of the versions revised by Prof. Dr Ben Korstvedt and is thus unsurpassed in its topicality. The release includes a fourth "laboratory CD" on which, for the first time ever, individual passages from the different versions can be heard in direct comparison, such as the alternative finale ("Volksfest") to the second version, as well as further excerpts from early previously unpublished drafts.



A journey through our history: Recently the audio book "Böhmen liegt in uns" (in German) about the history of our orchestra was published by Accentus! On 4 CDs we span the arc from the Prague roots to the times of Mozart to the present to Bamberg. The audio book was penned by Eva Gesine Baur, with captivating readings by Nora Gomringer, Jens Harzer and Meike Rötzer. In addition, it contains recordings of the orchestra from the respective historical era covered.


"Curiosity" is the motto of our 2021/22 season. You can download the brochure as a PDF here. If you would like to receive a printed version of the brochure, please send us a short mail with your address or call us.


Just in time for our anniversary in mid-March 2021, we published our Bamberg Diary #2 - China. Again with fantastic pictures by Andreas Herzau and essayistic contributions about the cultural exchange of the Bamberg Symphony on their tours - this time through Asia.

Click here for more details... (in German)


Our Mahler 4 recording from summer 2020, conducted by our principal conductor Jakub Hrůša, and together with Anna Lucia Richter, has won the prestigious German Record Critics' Award! The prize is awarded for the best recordings of the past 18 months.

The jury described our recording as a "fine recording that exceeds all expectations" in its statement: "One experiences highly intelligent, skillfully shrewd music-making as from one cast. There is an immediate reaction, instrumentally optimal variations are offered. Hrůša shapes and indulges, but at the same time hears the ambiguous behind the beauty and intimacy, dares also the sarcastic, tenderly crude."

Published by accentus music (catalog number: ACC30532)

To our livestreams...

Here you can find the videos and recordings of our concerts of the last months.