bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

back to list


Apr 19

Constantinos Carydis conducts Cherubini, Ravel, Weber and Rimski-Korsakow

Abo C
Bamberg, Konzerthalle, Joseph-Keilberth-Saal
20:00 Uhr

»In the youth of our hearts, in the loneliness of our souls we found ourselves in a very great city that was mysterious and threatening and tempting. How like we were to these princes who had wandered far from their homes, these merchants’ sons who give themselves up to life’s seductions!« Hugo von Hofmannsthal used these words in 1906 to express the fascination exuding from the stories of the »One Thousand and One Nights«. »Open sesame!« is the password from »Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves« – and will open our musical treasure trove, too: we will perform the overture from Cherubini’s opera »Ali Baba« as well as that from Weber’s light opera »Abu Hassan« – both witty stories about transformations and surprises. Ravel and Rimsky-Korsakov also fell under the charm of the exotic: the titles of their works refer to the story that frames the »One Thousand and One Nights«. For the young Scheherazade, telling these fairy-tales is the only way she has to save her life, for her husband, the fierce sultan Shahryar, has ordered that each of his wives be beheaded after their wedding night to protect himself against their infidelity. However, Scheherazade’s cleverly interlinked fairy-tales capture his imagination: she always gets to the most exciting part of the story at dawn, so that he wants to hear how it goes on the following evening – and thus Scheherazade’s cruel execution is postponed. In the one thousandth and first night, the sultan finally revokes his decree and they live happily ever after. Ravel and Rimsky-Korsakov have captured some of the charming storyteller’s marvellous tales in music.

Constantinos Carydis Conductor
Myrtò Papatanasiu Soprano

Luigi Cherubini »Ali Baba«, Ouvertüre
Maurice Ravel »Shéhérazade«
Carl Maria von Weber Ouvertüre zur Oper »Abu Hassan«
Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow »Scheherazade«, Symphonische Dichtung op. 35