bamberger symphoniker

resonating worldwide

back to list


Sep 24

Guest at the Beethovenfest Bonn

Bonn, Beethovenhalle
19:30 Uhr

»This must be love!« These words were heard at the joyous announcement that the journey with Jakub Hrůša will continue for several more wonderful years. And he sums it up perfectly, because our Chief Conductor is completely happy with his »friendly and harmonious home«: he loves the city Bamberg, the amicable atmosphere in the orchestra and the whole team behind the scenes, the magnificent hall and the enthusiastic audiences – who return his love in such a way that the concerts with him have been constantly sold out for years. And since fate has been particularly kind to this close relationship since 2016, Jakub Hrůša has fittingly included the Beethoven symphony on the programme for our season opener, with its world-famous tones revolving around the much-invoked Fatum – and about which it was said early on that it is a »living image of great passion«. This symphonic blockbuster is combined with favourites from the heart of our Chief Conductor: With compositions from his and our Bohemian homeland, which he regularly familiarises us with on our journey together. And in doing so, we are always moving on to lesser-known repertoire. Dvořák's Violin Concerto, for example, is not heard very often, even though it is in no way inferior in quality to the great Romantic concertos of his colleagues: it is »original, full of cantilenas and written for accomplished violinists« – including Isabelle Faust, whose wish it was to play the solo part with us one day. However, before that, we should first congratulate this year's birthday boy, Smetana: With his fascinating tone poem »Wallenstein's Camp«, which for Jakub Hrůša is a »fantastic opener« for concerts – which makes the piece a perfect opening for the new season themed »What we love«.

Jakub Hrůša Conductor
Isabelle Faust Violin

Bedřich Smetana »Wallensteins Lager« Symphonische Dichtung op. 14
Antonín Dvořák Konzert für Violine und Orchester a-Moll op. 53
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphonie Nr. 5 c-Moll op. 67