bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

back to list


Nov 22

Guest performance at the Isarphilharmonie

München, Isarphilharmonie
20:00 Uhr

 Bruckner's deep Catholicism earned him the epithet of a “musician of God”, and his numerous works sing the praises of creation. Sometimes he took his religious zeal too far – as evidenced by things such as his meticulous prayer lists. But in any case, it is hardly surprising that Bruckner dedicated his last symphony to the "Majesty of all Majesties". He also spoke reverently of the "Symphony of God”, adding: “Even through for a long time nobody understood me, and many still don’t understand me: He will understand.” However, Bruckner died in 1896 before he could complete the symphony’s final movement, leaving behind a solemn opening movement and a redemptive Adagio as a wonderful conclusion. In between these two movements is a Scherzo in which Bruckner possibly was referring to the destruction wreaked by industrialisation – in the words of the leading musicologist Attila Csampai: “Here, at over seventy, Bruckner suddenly reveals himself as a pure realist who, full of bitter irony, sets his sights on the century to come. There is no trace of transfiguration and mysticism, instead we hear the distorted and alienated roaring of a new world – with the noise of machines and pounding steam hammers that stifle any human sound.” The opening of our concert will strike a more cordial tone: together with the gifted soloist Karen Gomyo, we will perform Mendelssohn's famous 1844 Violin Concerto, which is brimming with spirit and vitality. Mendelssohn wrote it during his summer vacation in Bad Soden, sitting at the open window, and we hear a few fairies from "A Midsummer Night's Dream" weaving their way through this graceful music as well as poignant lyrical passages. Ferdinand David, who played the violin solo at the concerto’s premiere, called it fit to make even "the angels in heaven rejoice.”

Jakub Hrůša Conductor
Karen Gomyo Violin

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Konzert für Violine und Orchester e-Moll op. 64
Anton Bruckner Symphonie Nr. 9 d-Moll