bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

back to list


Apr 23

Jakub Hrůša & Julia Fischer

Abo E
Bamberg, Konzerthalle, Joseph-Keilberth-Saal
17:00 Uhr

Aristotle once said that "The beginning is half of the whole." This concert will present a brand-new creation by Johannes X. Schachtner, who was born in 1985 into a Bavarian family of musicians. This young composer already has an extensive catalogue of works to his credit and collaborates with international artists such as the acclaimed violinist Julia Fischer, for whom the violin concerto we commissioned was written. The concerto refers explicitly to our roots in Prague, nodding to the Bohemian musical tradition that we have continued to cultivate under our principal conductor Jakub Hrůša. The forms adopted by Czech composers such as Dvořák and Janáček have inspired Schachtner to write a sequence of several connected movements rather than employ the traditional classical-romantic solo concerto structure. Jazz influences can be heard in the concerto, too – we can’t wait for its premiere! Dvořák's most famous contribution to the symphonic genre is marked by a similar sense of a new beginning: his cultural mission for his sojourn in the "New World" was to create an American national music – for in contrast to Europe with its centuries-long musical tradition, there had been no major developments in the field of classical music in the “land of unlimited possibilities”.

Jakub Hrůša Conductor
Julia Fischer Violin

Johannes X. Schachtner Konzert für Violine und Orchester – Uraufführung einer Auftragskomposition der Bamberger Symphoniker
Antonín Dvořák Symphonie Nr. 9 e-Moll op. 95 »Aus der Neuen Welt«