bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

back to list


Dec 18

Ludovic Morlot conducts Liadow, Ravel and Chatschaturjan

Schweinfurt, Theater
19:30 Uhr

This concert is going to be truly magical! Adorno called Ravel the »master of masks of sound«. In his scintillating cycle »Ma Mère l’Oye«, based upon old French collections of fairy-tales, Ravel sought to reawaken »the poetry of childhood«. The title translates as »my mother, the goose« – but there is no goose in Ravel’s work. Instead, five different fairy-tales are recounted one after another: Sleeping Beauty, Tom Thumb, the Empress of the Pagodas, Beauty and the Beast and the Magic Garden. We will musically conjure up all of these stories’ magical events under the baton of French conductor Ludovic Morlot. Furthermore, we will be immersing ourselves in the world of Russian legend: Anatoly Lyadov’s fairy-tale pieces are striking miniatures full of captivating musical gestures and colour. The iridescent soundscape of the »Enchanted Lake« is a scene from a fairy-tale. The popular story of the bizarre witch »Baba Yaga«, who flies through the air and lives in a cottage with chicken legs, is painted in lush, vivid musical colour. The whimsical scherzo »Kikimora« uses a variety of effects to tell the story of a tiny witch and her devilish deeds. The talented Armenian violinist Sergey Khachatryan will also perform the violin concerto by his namesake and fellow Armenian Aram Khachaturian, which luxuriates both in a longing, nostalgic dreamlike atmosphere and in orgiastic fantasy images. Khachaturian wrote it in the tranquil surroundings of his dacha on the wooded banks of the Moskva in an inspired »state of joy«: »I worked effortlessly, sometimes my thoughts and ideas outran the hand whose task it was to note them down on paper.«

Ludovic Morlot Conductor
Sergey Khachatryan Violin

Anatoli Liadow »Der verzauberte See«, Tondichtung op. 62
Maurice Ravel »Ma mère l'oye« (»Mutter Gans«), Suite für Orchester
Anatoli Liadow »Kikimora«, Tondichtung op. 63
Anatoli Liadow »Baba Yaga«, Tondichtung op. 56
Aram Chatschaturjan Konzert für Violine und Orchester d-Moll

Buy tickets here