bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

© Jim Hinson
back to list


Nov 17

Nicholas Collon conducts Shostakovich and Rachmaninov

Fürth, Stadttheater
19:30 Uhr

»True music always reflects emotions, moods, passions, thoughts and ideas, yearning for peace and freedom, and the struggle for these precious things.« Such was Shostakovich’s firm belief. A great composer of profound works, he repeatedly provoked Party bigwigs at a time of very strict censorship. Yet he followed his own path and introduced covert musical innovations. He composed his first Violin Concerto in 1948, originally for his own eyes only: it wasn’t performed in public until after Stalin’s death. Written in close collaboration with its dedicatee, David Oistrakh, it’s a work of great emotional depth, with echoes of folk music. The soloist is our concertmaster Ilian Garnetz, who has a chance to show off how truly Slavic his soul is! After which, the young British conductor Nicholas Collon will guide us through the late romantic score of Rachmaninoff’s second Symphony. No less than Shostakovich, Rachmaninoff suffered constant hostility, with mainstream critics casting doubt on his musical talent. But for Rachmaninoff composing was as essential as »breathing or eating«. After his first Symphony was dismissed as overly banal, the ever melancholic composer anxiously held back his second. But his secret was prised out of him, and after its premiere in 1908 his success was assured – even if this weighty work was once described, half in jest, as »all of old Mother Russia’s world-weariness bundled up together«.

Nicholas Collon Conductor
Ilian Garnetz Violin

Dmitri Schostakowitsch Konzert für Violine und Orchester Nr. 1 a-Moll op. 77
Sergei Rachmaninow Symphonie Nr. 2 e-Moll op. 27