bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

back to list


Mar 19

Nicolai Lugansky plays Grieg

Abo A
Bamberg, Konzerthalle, Joseph-Keilberth-Saal
20:00 Uhr

»One can love no spirit so overwhelmingly as nature itself.« With these fitting word Edvard Grieg described something that occupied probably all Romantic composers in one way or the other. And thus we indulge ourselves in the Romantic world of ideas of this Norwegian composer and his great idol Robert Schumann: his setting of Lord Byron’s dramatic poem »Manfred« created what is almost a musical self-portrait, dealing with the internal struggle and torment of a character at odds with himself and the world. The eponymous hero has a romantic relationship with his half-sister, is cursed and wanders lost through the mountains until he dies of despair. Marek Janowski will also be our sure-footed guide through Schumann’s most famous »symphonic tale« of the Rhineland – the setting of sagas, history and poetry. Schumann wrote his Third Symphony in 1850 in Düsseldorf, where he was employed as Director of Music. It was probably inspired by the majestic impression of Cologne Cathedral (despite the fact that the cathedral had not been completed at the time) – and even though the vivacious Rhineland temperament was completely foreign to the introverted Schumann, he declared that the atmospheric piece, full of folky tunes, »reflects a slice of life«. Edvard Grieg is also part of this concert with his piano concerto which he was inspired to as a young student at the Leipzig conservatory. There he heard none other than Clara Schumann playing her husbands a-Minor concerto – and began working on his piano concerto in which Grieg memorialized his earlier idol Robert Schumann and at the same time contributed his very own idiom into this virtuoso music.

Marc Minkowski Conductor
Nikolai Lugansky Piano

Robert Schumann Ouvertüre zu »Manfred« op. 115
Edvard Grieg Konzert für Klavier und Orchester a-Moll op. 16
Robert Schumann Symphonie Nr. 3 Es-Dur op. 97 »Rheinische Symphonie«