bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

back to list


Dec 21

Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider and our solo bassoonist Rie Koyama

Abo B
Bamberg, Konzerthalle
17:00 Uhr

»Lovers and madmen have such seething brains, such shaping fantasies, that apprehend more than cool reason ever comprehends.« So says Shakespeare’s famous literary fairy tale, which attracted Mendelssohn as if by magic. He wrote his overture to Shakespeare's »A Midsummer Night's Dream« when he was only 17, and the rest of the incidental music followed in 1843 – a shimmering score that takes us right into the heart of the fantastic fairy realm, where the forest sprite Puck spurs the lovers’ turbulent confusion on, full of childlike energy and curiosity. Impish traits are also found in Weber's wonderful bassoon concerto, which puts the spotlight on an instrument rarely experienced as a soloist. In 1784, the bassoon was already described as: »so social, so sweetly loquacious, so in tune with every unspoiled soul, that the last day of the world will surely find many thousands of bassoons still among us.« Weber completed his concerto for the slender woodwind instrument in 1811. It is a supremely musical work that shows the bassoon »in its seriousness, dignity and power« as well as »in its capacity to sing« – and not least »in the humour of which it is capable«. This gives our new principal bassoonist Rie Koyama the opportunity for a grand performance in her first year with us, in keeping with our orchestra’s tradition. The concert will conclude with the fiery symphony that prompted Weber to say that Beethoven should be sent »to Bedlam« for writing it. The symphony whetted others’ curiosity to decipher it, too – interpretations ranged from a wedding celebration to a knight's feast to an »unknown celebration of ghosts«, and the final »drunken carousel« even led Beethoven to be accused of drunkenness. What has always been indisputable, however, is that the Seventh Symphony, completed in 1812, is a grandiose »orgy of rhythm«.

Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider Conductor
Rie Koyama Bassoon

Carl Maria von Weber Konzert für Fagott und Orchester F-Dur op. 75
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy »Ein Sommernachtstraum« op. 61 Ouvertüre, Scherzo, Intermezzo, Notturno, Hochzeitsmarsch
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphonie Nr. 7 A-Dur op. 92