bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

back to list


Mar 19

Rafael Payare conducts Berlioz, Rubinstein, Sibelius and Ward

Abo B
Bamberg, Konzerthalle, Joseph-Keilberth-Saal
20:00 Uhr

»Pianists see me as a composer, composers see me as a pianist.« Anton Rubinstein toured the world as one of the best-known virtuoso performers of his time. But »Van II«, as he was nicknamed for his similarity to Beethoven, was also a major composer, and his Fourth Piano Concerto of 1864 contains all the grand gestures typical of great Romantic piano music: chords like rolls of thunder and passages quick as lightning bolts as well as beautiful islands of melody. The brilliant Denis Kozhukhin will perform this work for us. The concerto will be preceded by Berlioz’s »Le carnaval romain« of 1844: this virtuoso masquerade celebrates exuberant carnival days in the life of the Renaissance painter Benvenuto Cellini. We will also be dipping into Sibelius’s Scandinavian musical world. The composer wrote in his diary (which he referred to as his »spittoon«) that for him, »a symphony was a profession of faith«. His second symphony was inspired by a trip to Italy, and for this reason was once titled his »Lyric Symphony«. However, while composing it Sibelius went through a crisis, calling the work his »child of pain« and a »confession of the soul«. According to one story, he had a vision of Don Juan in Italy, a vision in which he himself was seated at the table with death. However, after completing the symphony a sunnier, more positive outlook returned, and he wrote to its dedicatee, Baron Axel Carpelan: »Now I can see clearly once more and am travelling full sail ahead.« Rafael Payare will lead our orchestra through the worlds of sound of these popular »symphonic tales« – and we can also look forward with anticipation to a brand new work by Duncan Ward, who has attracted attention across the globe!

Rafael Payare Conductor
Denis Kozhukhin Piano

Hector Berlioz »Le Carnaval romain«, Ouvertüre op. 9
Anton Rubinstein Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 4 d-Moll op. 70
Jean Sibelius Symphonie Nr. 2 D-Dur op. 43