bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

© Andreas Herzau
back to list


Sep 17

Season Opening Concert with Chief Conductor Jakub Hrůša

Abo A
Bamberg, Konzerthalle, Joseph-Keilberth-Saal
20:00 Uhr

Together with our Chief Conductor, we embark on our new season chock full of passion! Wagner poured passion aplenty into his last opera: »Parsifal«, the »festive act of theatrical consecration« which was premiered in 1882 at Bayreuth. Wagner devoted 37 years to the work, which lasts a good five hours, and which he »reserved for my fullest maturity«. The opera is a struggle between Christian chastity and Dionysian sensuality, mirrored in the score by the opposition of diatonic harmony and chromaticism. Rich in leitmotifs, this »farewell to the world« mixes scenes of radiant pathos with lyrical passages: the incantatory music of the “Good Friday Spell” is particularly overwhelming. Before that, we visit the world of the Baroque, with an orchestration of Bach’s spectacular »Toccata and Fugue«. It’s thought that Bach composed this highly expressive organ piece before 1705, when he was not yet 20. To end, deeply emotional music from our ancestral Bohemian home – by Josef Suk, who always saw himself as an artist »who has honestly striven to express in pure music what filled his soul«. His life and work were closely bound up with Dvořák: Suk was not only his prize pupil but soon became his friend and son-in-law, after falling in love with Dvořák’s daughter Otylka. But this idyll was destroyed first by Dvořák’s death in 1904, and then, just fourteen months later, by Otylka’s tragically early death. In a bid to overcome this trauma, and in memory of his two loved ones, Suk composed the »Asrael« Symphony – centred on a funeral march, the impact of this gripping work invites comparison with Mahler’s music.

Jakub Hrůša Conductor

Johann Sebastian Bach Toccata und Fuge d-Moll für Orgel solo BWV 565, Fassung für Orchester von Leopold Stokowski
Richard Wagner »Karfreitagszauber« aus »Parsifal«
Josef Suk »Asrael«, Symphonie für großes Orchester Nr. 2 c-Moll op. 27