bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

back to list


Sep 20

Season opening with our principal conductor

Abo A
Bamberg, Konzerthalle, Joseph-Keilberth-Saal
20:00 Uhr

We are launching our anniversary season by dancing – for, as Plato already said, »Dance is the art that moves the human soul the most.« Carl Maria von Weber created a truly rapturous waltz in his popular 1819 composition »Invitation to the Dance«. The work presents a humorous episode: a gentleman asks a lady to dance, but she refuses him. He keeps on trying persistently, and finally she gives in. The couple whirl across the dance floor, sometimes swaying gently, sometimes stomping wildly – and when the dance is over, the gentleman courteously takes his lady back to her seat. We are delighted that Piotr Anderszewski, our featured artist of 2014 / 15, will return as our guest and interpret a work by this year's jubilarian: Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 1 of 1795 / 96 is actually his second, but was published first. A rhythmic main motif, festive virtuosity and brilliance, rapturous lyricism and the high-spirited dance-like finale characterise this fresh and youthful music.
This season’s opening concert with our principal conductor will conclude with a »river of sensations« – the Fourth Symphony by Bruckner, whose oeuvre was described as »actively agile, an ever-shifting spiritual radiance. What we love about Bruckner is his joy in being a traveller, a joy that had become lost.« In this concert, we will perform the symphony in the revised version of 1878 to 1880. Bruckner inscribed the name day of St. Cecilia, patron saint of music, at the end of the score. The final result is a romantic masterpiece with horn calls, birdsong, a funeral march, the sounds of country dances and a hunting scene. Bruckner said while composing the symphony: »Because the world in its present state is spiritually weak, I take flight to that which is strong, writing powerful music.«

Jakub Hrůša Conductor
Piotr Anderszewski Piano

Carl Maria von Weber »Aufforderung zum Tanz« op. 65
Ludwig van Beethoven Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 1 C-Dur op. 15
Anton Bruckner Symphonie Nr. 4 Es-Dur »Romantische«