bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

Konzerthalle Bamberg
© Andreas Herzau

The Bamberg Symphony on Youtube

The inaugural concert 2016/2017 with our new Chief Conductor Jakub Hrůša

On 30 September 2016 Jakub Hrůša inaugurated the season 2016/2017 as our new Chief Conductor. He conducted, among other works, Gustav Mahler's First Symphony. Michael Wende has captured excerpts of the inaugural evening in a short video.


Benefit Concert 2016 of the President of the Federal Republic

On March 19, 2016, the eve of the Bamberg Symphony's 70th anniversary, the annual Benefit Concert of the President of the Federal Republic of Germany took place in Bamberg's concert hall. Under the baton of Jonathan Nott the orchestra performed works that were landmarks in the Bohemian history of the Bamberg Symphony: the overture of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's »Don Giovanni«, world-premiered in 1787 in Prague's Estates Theatre by the orchestra that was a forerunner of today's Bamberg Symphony, Bedřich Smetana's »From Bohemia's Woods and Fields« as well as Gustav Mahler's 7th symphony, first performed in 1908 under the composer's direction by the New German Theatre Orchestra, the pre-predecessor of the Bamberg Symphony. [watch video here]

Bundespräsident Joachim Gauck
© Presse- und Informationsamt der Bundesregierung

The commercial enterprise Bamberg Symphony

In March 2016, Christian Uhlig potrayed the Bamberg Symphony - and found that managing an orchestra is not only about fine music. It's also hard economic facts and figures. A report by Deutsche Welle.


In search of the Bohemian sound

The circumstances of its birth make the Bamberg Symphony a mirror to German history. In 1946 former members of Prague's German Philharmonic met fellow musicians who had also been obliged to flee their homes. In Bamberg they founded a new orchestra: the Bamberg Symphony. Over the decades, the members of the Orchestra changed, but its »bohemian sound« lasted. As a traditional touring Orchestra, the Bamberg Symphony has been travelling all around the globe and has performed in the world's most prominent venues. In May 2014, however, they set out for a concert in a very special place – the one they came from: Prague.


The Sorcerer's Apprentice - in six minutes

Paul Dukas's »The Sorcerer's Apprentice« is a congenial musical realization of Johann Wolfgang Goethe's ballad and one of the most famous - and most brilliantly orchestrated - pieces for large orchestra. Film-makers Michael Wende and Andreea Varga have shortened Dukas's work to the essential moments and created a video in the style of the movies of the twenties.


Lahav Shani and the Bamberg Symphony

In June 2013, the young Israeli conductor Lahav Shani won the 1st prize at the Bamberg Symphony Gustav Mahler Conducting Competition. Only a few months later, he stepped in for a concert with the Bamberg Symphony that Gustavo Dudamel - 1st prize winner of the Competition in 2004 - had to cancel.


Beethovenfest Bonn 2013 with Patricia Kopatchinskaja

In September 2013, the Bamberg Symphony and violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja were artists in residence of the Beethovenfest Bonn. Together, they performed Beethoven's concerto for violin and orchestra D major op. 61, conducted by Jonathan Nott.


Beethoven's Seventh in seven minutes

On 1 July 2014, the Bamberg Symphony and Manfred Honeck performed Ludwig van Beethoven's Seventh Symphony at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam. Here are some excerpts.

Our new Chief Conductor from September 2016: Jakub Hrůša

In September 2015, the Bamberg Symphony announced that Jakub Hrůša would become their next Chief Conductor from autumn 2016. »I am truly delighted to become Chief Conductor of the Bamberg Symphony«, says Jakub Hrůša. »Even before I had a chance to conduct this jewel among European orchestras, I had been a huge admirer. They are an embodiment of orchestral culture, with everything imagined by this term. And with the Orchestra having its origins in Prague, we breathe the same musical air, sharing our cultural backgrounds, being artistically and historically very close. With the Bamberg Symphony, every phrase can turn to be a little miracle, and every concert is a transfiguration.« In November 2015, he gave his first concert as Chief Conductor Designate when Michael and Andreea Wende made this portrait.


With Jakub Hrůša at the Herrenchiemsee Festival 2015

In the summer 2015, the Bamberg Symphony played Smetana's »Má Vlast« at Herrenchiemsee Castle. The conductor was Jakub Hrůša who, at that time, had already conducted the Orchestra in three concerts before. In September 2015 he was appointed Chief Conductor Designate of the Bamberg Symphony. From autumn 2016, Jakub Hrůša will assume musical direction of the Orchestra. He will be the fifth Chief Conductor in the history of the Bamberg Symphony.


The Management Symphony

In May 2015, the members of »The Management Symphony« - managers, board members, lawyers, management consultants, university professors or chief executives - met in Bamberg. Under the baton of Jonathan Nott, principal conductor of the Bamberg Symphony, they rehearsed and performed in a public concert Gustav Mahler's 1st symphony. For a few days, they have exchanged laptops and mobile phones for violins, cellos or clarinets. Film-makers Michael Wende and Andreea Varga have accompanied them during the rehearsals.


»Slam Symphony«

Bamberg is »Slamberg« – a centre of Poetry Slam. Furthermore, in 2014 the music world celebrated the 150th anniversary of Richard Strauss. Why not bring tone poetry and poetry slam together? So, in September 2014, three nation-wide known poetry slammers competed with each other on the stage of the Bamberg concert hall. Their topic: »An Alpine Symphony« by Richard Strauss.


New Year's concerts - on two continents

On 31 December 2013, the Bamberg Symphony played two concerts almost at the same time - on two continents! While one half of the orchestra stayed in Bamberg for the traditional New Year's Eve concert, the other half performed the official Chinese New Year's concert in Beijing's Great Hall of the People.


Beethoven in Bonn

In September 2013 the Bamberg Symphony was Orchestra in residence of the Beethovenfest Bonn. The Orchestra confronted Beethoven's Symphonies Nos. 3, 5 and 9 and his Violin Concerto with Lutoslawski's 3rd Symphony and Schoenberg's Piano Concerto op. 42.


Pierre-Laurent Aimard at the Musikfest Berlin 2014

On 8 September 2014 the Bamberg Symphony performed Helmut Lachenmann's »Ausklang« at the Musikfest Berlin. The soloist was Pierre-Laurent Aimard. In this interview he talks about Lachenmann's »piano concerto«.


The Baton

»The world needs no conductors!« A provocative claim of the animated figure of a baton-designer who is following 12 young conductors from all over the world, gathered 10 days in Bamberg to win the world's most prestigious conducting competition: The Gustav Mahler Conducting Competition. Do the candidates of the competition share this opinion? The conductor's job is like no other one worldwide. It's the art of creating music just with your hands - a miracle that no one can really explain. »The Baton« is a subtle and humorous documentary about the big mystery and magic of music.

With »The Baton« the young director Michael Wende has created not only a documentary of the Bamberg Symphony Gustav Mahler Conducting Competition, but »one of the most original movies about classical music in a long time« (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung).

The movie has been awarded several international prizes and is available in every music store.

bamberger symphoniker

extraordinary city.
extraordinary orchestra.

Konzerthalle Bamberg
© Andreas Herzau

Die Bamberger Symphoniker auf Youtube

Das Antrittskonzert unseres neuen Chefdirigenten Jakub Hrůša

Am 30. September 2016 eröffnete Jakub Hrůša als unser neuer Chefdirigent die Saison 2016/2017. Auf dem Programm stand unter anderem Gustav Mahlers Erste Symphonie. Michael Wende hat den Konzertabend in einem kurzen Video dokumentiert.


Das Benefizkonzert 2016 des Bundespräsidenten

Am 19. März 2016, dem Vorabend des 70jährigen Jubiläums der Bamberger Symphoniker, fand in der Konzerthalle Bamberg das Benefizkonzert des Bundespräsidenten statt. Unter der Leitung von Jonathan Nott spielten die Bamberger Symphoniker Werke, die eine besondere Bedeutung in der böhmischen Vorgeschichte des Orchesters einnehmen: die Ouvertüre zu Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts »Don Giovanni«, der 1787 von den Ahnen der heutigen Bamberger Symphoniker im Prager Ständetheater uraufgeführt wurde, Bedřich Smetanas »Aus Böhmens Hain und Flur« sowie Gustav Mahlers 7. Symphonie, die 1908 vom Orchester des Neuen Deutschen Theaters Prag, dem Vor-Vorgängerorchester der Bamberger Symphoniker, unter Mahlers Leitung uraufgeführt wurde. [zum Video]

Bundespräsident Joachim Gauck
© Presse- und Informationsamt der Bundesregierung

Die Bamberger Symphoniker als Wirtschaftsunternehmen

Im März 2016 portraitierte Christian Uhlig die Bamberger Symphoniker und fand heraus, dass es in einem Orchester nicht immer nur um schöne Musik geht. Es geht auch um harte wirtschaftliche Fakten. Ein Beitrag der Deutschen Welle.


Auf der Suche nach dem böhmischen Klang

Die Umstände ihrer Gründung machen die Bamberger Symphoniker zu einem Spiegel deutscher Geschichte. 1946 trafen ehemalige Mitglieder der Deutschen Philharmonie in Prag auf Musikerkollegen, die ebenfalls aus ihrer Heimat hatten fliehen müssen. In Bamberg gründeten sie ein neues Orchester: die Bamberger Symphoniker. Die Musiker kamen und gingen, doch eines blieb: der »böhmische« Klang des Orchesters. In kürzester Zeit legten »die Bamberger« den Grundstein für ihren international einzigartigen Ruf und gastierten wie kein anderer deutscher Klangkörper auf den Konzertpodien in aller Welt. Im Mai 2014 jedoch machten sie sich auf eine Reise an einen besonderen Ort - den, von dem sie stammen: Prag.


»Der Zauberlehrling« – in sechs Minuten

Paul Dukas' kongeniale Umsetzung von Goethes Ballade in musikalische Bilder ist eines des berühmtesten und am brillantesten instrumentierten Orchesterstücke überhaupt. Filmemacher Michael Wende und Andreea Varga haben in ihrem Videoclip das Werk auf die entscheidenden Momente gekürzt und in der Optik der Stummfilme der 20er Jahre inszeniert.


Lahav Shani und die Bamberger Symphoniker

Im Juni 2013 gewann der junge israelische Dirigent Lahav Shani den ersten Preis beim Bamberger Symphoniker Gustav-Mahler-Dirigentenwettbewerb. Nur ein paar Monate später führte ihn ein Zufall erneut nach Bamberg: Er sprang er ein für Gustavo Dudamel – Gewinner des ersten Dirigentenwettbewerbs 2004 –, der seine Teilnahme am Konzert kurzfristig absagen musste.


Beethovenfest Bonn 2013 mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Im September 2013 waren die Bamberger Symphoniker und Geigerin Patricia Kopatchinskaja artists in residence des Beethovenfestes Bonn. Zusammen spielten sie Beethovens Violinkonzert D-Dur op. 61, geleitet von Chefdirigent Jonathan Nott.


Beethovens Siebte in sieben Minuten

Am 1. Juli 2014 waren die Bamberger Symphoniker zu Gast im Concertgebouw Amsterdam. Unter der Leitung von Manfred Honeck spielten sie u.a. Beethovens Siebte Symphonie. Hier finden Sie einige Auszüge.

Unser neuer Chefdirigent seit September 2016: Jakub Hrůša

Im September 2015 gaben die Bamberger Symphoniker ihren zukünftigen Chefdirigenten bekannt: Jakub Hrůša. »Ich freue mich außerordentlich«, sagt Jakub Hrůša, »der Chefdirigent der Bamberger Symphoniker zu werden. Schon bevor ich die Möglichkeit hatte, dieses Juwel unter den europäischen Orchestern zu dirigieren, habe ich es über die Maßen bewundert. Sie verkörpern Orchesterkultur im umfassendsten Sinne des Wortes. Da die Wurzeln des Orchesters in Prag liegen, atmen wir gewissermaßen die gleiche musikalische Luft, teilen den gleichen kulturellen Hintergrund und sind uns künstlerisch und historisch sehr nah. Mit den Bamberger Symphonikern kann jedes noch so kleine musikalische Detail zu einem Wunder werden, und jedes Konzert verwandelt den, der es hört.« Im November 2015, als er seine ersten Konzerte als designierter Chefdirigent gab, entstand dieses Portrait von Michael und Andreea Wende.


Mit Jakub Hrůša bei den Herrenchiemsee Festspielen 2015

Im Juli 2015 spielten die Bamberger Symphoniker Bedřich Smetanas »Má Vlast« bei den Festspielen auf Schloss Herrenchiemsee. Der Dirigent war Jakub Hrůša, der zum damaligen Zeitpunkt das Orchester bereits in drei Konzerten dirigiert hatte. Wenige Wochen später wurde er zum Designierten Chefdirigenten der Bamberger Symphoniker ernannt. Im September 2016 übernimmt Jakub Hrůša die musikalische Verantwortung für das Orchester. Er wird der fünfte Chefdirigent in der Geschichte der Bamberger Symphoniker.


The Management Symphony

Anfang Mai 2015 trafen sich die Mitglieder der »Management Symphony« - Manager, Aufsichtsräte, Rechtsanwälte, Unternehmensberater, Universitätsprofessoren oder Geschäftsführer - in der Konzerthalle Bamberg, um unter der Leitung von Jonathan Nott, Chefdirigent der Bamberger Symphoniker, Gustav Mahlers Erste Symphonie einzustudieren und in einem öffentlichen Konzert aufzuführen. Für ein paar Tage tauschten sie Laptop und Handy gegen Geige, Cello oder Klarinette. Filmemacher Michael Wende und Andreea Varga waren bei den Proben dabei.


»Slam Symphony«

Bamberg ist »Slamberg« - das Zentrum für Poetry Slam in Bayern. Außerdem feierte die Musikwelt 2014 den 150. Geburtstag von Richard Strauss. Warum also nicht einmal Tonpoesie und Poetry Slam zusammenbringen? So traten im September 2014 drei Poetry Slammer live auf der Bühne der Konzerthalle Bamberg gegeneinander an. Das Thema: »Eine Alpensinfonie« von Richard Strauss.


Silvesterkonzerte – auf zwei Kontinenten

Am letzten Tag des Jahres 2013 spielten die Bamberger Symphoniker zwei Neujahrskonzerte auf zwei Kontinenten. Während ein Teil des Orchesters in Bamberg das traditionelle Silvesterkonzert gab, spielte der andere Teil in der Großen Halle des Volkes in China das offizielle chinesische Neujahrskonzert unter der Leitung von Jonathan Nott. 


Beethoven in Bonn

Im September 2013 waren die Bamberger Symphoniker Orchestra in residence des Beethovenfestes Bonn. Sie präsentierten u.a. Beethovens Symphonien 3, 5 und 9 und dessen Violinkonzert mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja und stellten sie W. Lutoslawskis 3. Symphonie und Schönbergs Konzert für Klavier und Orchester op. 42 gegenüber.  


Pierre-Laurent Aimard beim Musikfest Berlin 2014

Am 8. September 2014 spielten die Bamberger Symphoniker im Rahmen des Musikfests Berlin u.a. Helmut Lachenmanns »Ausklang« für Klavier mit Orchester. Solist war Pierre-Laurent Aimard, die Leitung hatte Chefdirigent Jonathan Nott. Am Rande der Proben entstand dieses Interview mit dem Pianisten.


Der Taktstock

»Die Welt braucht keine Dirigenten!« Eine provokante These, die der kleine animierte Taktstockbauer an seiner Werkbank aufstellt. Sehen das die Teilnehmer des Weltweit renommierten Bamberger Symphoniker Gustav-Mahler-Dirigentenwettbewerbs ebenso? Auf humorvolle Weiser durchleuchtet der Film Macht und Magie der Maestros und erklärt, wofür das Orchester denn eigentlich einen Dirigenten braucht.
Der junge Filmemacher Michael Wende hat mit »Der Taktstock« nicht nur eine Dokumentation unseres Dirigentenwettbewerbs 2010 geschaffen, sondern einen »der originellsten Filme über klassische Musik seit langem« (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung).
Der Film wurde mittlerweile mit einer Fülle von internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet und ist als DVD im Handel erhältlich.